plā′wėrk′ings, n. Portions of play matters consideration; draft formations.

A message to adult readers: children’s play is not about you. Really. Children’s play is their play. Playworkers are unique amongst adults who work with children: true playworkers are focused on play — not on educational outcomes (as teachers will be), on preparation or foundation for future years (as early years workers will be), on law and order and fitting in with rules and regulations (as, say, police community support officers will be). Playworkers work with the child’s agenda, not with the adult’s agenda.

There are so many adults, for one reason or another, who can’t or won’t get this though. I’ve lost count of the times I’ve been told that children ‘have to respect the rules, because I have to’; that children ‘should conform to society, because we all have to’; that children should ‘play the way I want them to, because I don’t like noise or mess or anything I think is too risky for them.’ Adults — it’s not about you.

So, I reply to them with a question: Why can’t children choose to do what they want to do? There’s usually a direct and quick response, along the lines of, ‘Well, then there’d be anarchy, wouldn’t there? We can’t have that.’ This shows me two things: (i) that the adult in question doesn’t understand what ‘anarchy’ is really about (but that’s another story); (ii) the adult in question is a product of the system that this country, the UK, is unfortunately churning out, i.e. you must conform to the way things are.

So, children’s self-expressions, making noise, making mess, rough and tumbling, engaging in risky play, etc, are becoming more and more frowned upon: regarded as ‘abnormal’, ‘anti-social’, ‘undesirable’ because these behaviours don’t fit with the dominant adult desire to have things their own way — the adult need to control. Why do adults control? Perhaps adults feel controlled themselves, powerless themselves, and need to control and have power over others to balance things up.

Children, and by extension their play, are easy targets. However, children’s play should not be treated with such contempt. I imagine a bunch of adults standing around, each with a handful of marbles — one adult grabs the marbles of another and announces, ‘Now, that’s mine.’ I imagine a bunch of adults standing around, each with a handful of children’s play . . .

Children’s play is not about you. It’s not about what you want. Children’s play belongs to the children.

What do adults want from children’s play? What are the adult agendas? They want children to learn information; to learn how to do things; to learn how to be (or how the adults want them to be) with other people; to run around so they don’t get fat; to not try things out because they think they, the adults, have a better way of doing it; to not slip or fall or hurt themselves in any way. On the face of it, most of these things have a place in care or education environments. This isn’t to suggest that playworkers don’t ‘care’: of course they do. Playworkers care greatly. Perhaps that’s why we get so worked up about these sorts of conversations. Playworkers care about the play of children (and, of course, the children themselves), and play is more important than I can say in just a few lines.

As a playworker, I’ve observed children’s play for many years, and I’ve learnt a great deal. I can only be an absolute authority on my own play though. When I played, as a child, I didn’t go into that play — consciously — in order to learn factual information, or how to make something, or how to share, or how not to be obese, or how to prove that adults were right, or how to carry out personal risk assessments. I might have got a lot of information out of my play as a result of playing, but why did I play? Why did I go into my play?

I played in the woods because they were interesting and dark and wet and close and sunlit and just down the road.

I played on top of the old bungalow because there was an overgrown garden full of somebody else’s eggs and brown sauce and flour, and so I used them to trash the place.

I played on my bike, going round and round the block, just because I wanted to make it to a hundred circuits.

I played by putting snails in empty drinks cans and putting them in the middle of the road, then sitting under the bridge to watch, because I was curious.

I played in the stream by the lake, scooping along in the shallows, because I liked the feel of the water on me and the breeze in my hair.

I played football up against someone else’s house because that was where I found myself when I decided that I needed to play football; because the wall was a good sized wall; because there was a bit of a slope that bounced the ball back at me at unexpected angles.

I played by ‘selling’ comics to other children on my front door step because I had comics and because the hallway made a good shop and because other children were interested in my comics.

I played football with other children because I liked football.

I played by standing at the end of the street with the children from that end, and we talked about our dreams because I was fascinated that other children had had the same dreams as me (or, they said they did!)

I played by sliding down the stairs in a sleeping bag because the sleeping bag was slippery and because the stairs made you go fast.

I played on top of the living room table because that was the best way, at the time, to get from one part of the room to another without touching the floor.

I played with my sister and brother by communicating through the central heating grills, each of us in different rooms, because I thought this was a good way to communicate, and because I imagined this to be our own secret way of communicating: a way that the adults couldn’t hear!

I played by standing on the edge of the parapet above the garage, maybe a twenty feet drop to the road, because this was a drop that needed looking down on from the edge . . .

In my play, I wasn’t thinking about conquering my fears, or developing my confidence or self-esteem, about sharing with others, about learning how to pedal or how to kick a ball coming at me at unexpected angles. I wasn’t thinking about my fine or gross motor skills, about my cognitive awareness, or the developmental outcomes of any kind. I wasn’t thinking about the feelings of other people inside the houses around me, or about the feelings of the other children I played with: if they didn’t like me that day, or if they didn’t like what I was doing, they told me; so, I went off and played on my own. That’s life.

My play was my play. It wasn’t the construct of adults: it wasn’t adult-directed, or shaped, or suggested to me. It wasn’t about the adults.

Children’s play, my fellow adults, is not — or should not be — about you. If it is, it isn’t children’s play.
 
 

Comments on: "Children’s play is not about you" (10)

  1. The adults that don’t get it remind me of the kids that don’t get it. If you plant plants with little kids, they’ll sometimes pull them up again five minutes later, to see if they’ve grown. They need to learn to wait, which they won’t learn until they understand plants. (Not that I’m trying to teach them anything). If you grow cress in a glass, they can see the roots growing each day and then maybe they’ll get it. If they understood poetry they might get this: ”vaster than empires and more slow“ I know this quote as the title of a story by Le Guin, and I also know it is from a poem, but couldn’t remember which one, so I googled and found this

    http://austinhgilkeson.wordpress.com/2011/11/30/vaster-than-empires-and-more-slow/

    Adopts hectoring tone, wagging finger at the adults:
    Just what do you want from these kids? Do you want them to combat obesity? Do you want them to develop fine motor skills?

    You want your garden to grow – do you go out in it and shout ‘grow!’? No, you feed it, and protect it and prune it and nurture it.

    The learning organisation is a goal for some (slightly less stupid) companies. How do you get one? Do you go out into the canteen and the meeting rooms and shout ‘learn!’ at people?

    No, you create the conditions in which people communicate and work together, and adjust your reward system to reward those things. Management by exhortation is rife, and she no work, mister boss man, she no work.

    A healthy garden and a learning organisation are outcomes. A healthy fit, non-obese, agile child is an outcome.

    You, yes you, bossy adult, you are the gardener, so stop shouting, start feeding, protecting, pruning and nurturing.

  2. ”So, I reply to them with a question: Why can’t children choose to do what they want to do? There’s usually a direct and quick response, along the lines of, ‘Well, then there’d be anarchy, wouldn’t there? We can’t have that.’ “

    Oh yes, quick and direct – fast, too fast for thought, reactive, fear-filled, fast.

    So here comes me recycling parts of my complexity workshops:

    After discovering complexity theory and all that, when I worked with managers, who say exactly the same things about their underlings as your adults, Joel, I asked them what they thought would happen if they stopped telling people what to do. They were scared of chaos. I told them (backed up with lots of science) that that was a dumb thing to be afraid of. What they ought to be afraid of was order. That’s order as in stereotypical behaviour (tigers pacing up and down in a cage, for example). The next adjacent system state to order is stasis, or in everyday parlance: death. But if you loosen up a bit, you don’t get chaos, you get the hum of productivity, of focus – the buzz of the zone of complexity.

    But they are usually to scared to try it, preferring to pace up and down, up and down, up and down, up and down, up and down, up and down….

    • Thanks, Arthur, for your salutary tales of gardeners and tigers. You’ve sparked some thinking on my part. You are very much appreciated.

      🙂

  3. Reblogged this on qualitywithinplay and commented:
    playworkings – wonderful blog – something I will share with my reader

  4. This is a wonderful post – I just had an experience helping to install a school garden on Saturday, and no children were invited to help plan or help build the beds. The parents thought it would be too “chaotic” to have children around. And the adults were speaking about the garden like it was their garden. It left me a bit sad! We don’t listen to children’s needs near enough. Thank you!

    • Thanks for reading and commenting, Allie. It is a shame when some adults think that children will just get in the way, spoil things, or – as you say – think things will become too ‘chaotic’. Children are, in my experience, often positive forces of creativity in their own right: from the things they produce to the process of their productions, even if there’s no end ‘product’ at all; from the things they say and do, to the way that they are and how they interact with- and in- the world. Just as, in your example, it is the children’s garden, we sometimes forget that children are also a part of this world we live on.

      Your comments, and the fact that you’ve taken the time to make them here, are very much appreciated.

      🙂

  5. Roger Seath said:

    I agree. I was a part of that childhood. Why put snails in a can? Because I was a child and that’s what I did (still do metaphorically?). I agree.

    • You remember the snails, poor things! Still, we had to do what we had to do, right?! Now, we’re all grown up but those metaphorical snails are stil rattling around: can’t make me (do what I don’t want to do)!

      Good to see you here.

      🙂

  6. […] Joel Seath’s Children’s Play is Not About You […]

Tell me something . . .

